Blubber Island lives

Blubber Island Book Cover FINAL-page-001

Blubber Island by Guillermo Galvan

 

Welcome to the official Blubber Island blog. I’ve struggled to create a new genre I call “gutter surrealism,” which resulted in a five-year project called Blubber Island.

This book was a lot of fun to write at first. I let my imagination off its dog chain, and it ran free through the avenues of my mind. I knew I had to go far out because I wanted to free everyone imaginations. These were huge ambitions. I’m eternally grateful that I was naive enough to believe I could do it. All that mattered was driving full speed ahead without regard to the casualties of grammar and basic storytelling. I was too busy being rock and roll. The result was a train wreck. Readers tore up my book in reviews. They accused me of being a lazy bastard that released sloppy work.

I was offended because they were right.

However, there were many readers who generously read through my bad writing and discovered the beating heart that drove me to see this story to the end. These people were kind and encouraging enough to convince me there was something inside this bizarre story worth sharing. I stopped sales and fell off the radar for five years. During this time I filled up on books covering the nuts and bolts of writing. I’ve developed a deep love and respect for the craft. A well-constructed sentence can carry the weight of the world.

Life changes and health reasons prevented me from finishing the revision sooner. Sometimes I would google my book and be surprised what those few sold copies managed to inspire. A grad student presented my book alongside other “real” writers in a presentation of Latino Dystopia, a professor used a quote for his syllabus on literature and drug abuse, and several artists created illustrations. On forums and my Facebook page people asked where they could obtain a copy as the years passed. I found copy going for $300 through a private seller. That made me laugh.

So many times I was tempted to either release the current version or delete it and be done with the idea. The manuscript haunted me. Luckily, my life had recently stabilized enough to commit over 50 hours into the editing job. My wife would arrive in the afternoon to find me at the computer with a five o’clock shadow and reddened eyes. She’d ask if I’ve left the house at all that day. I’d think about it for a moment and then answer, “No.” Once the manuscript was finished, I started on a new cover.

So now it’s finally done. The beast has been slayed and I sleep a little easier at night. Some of the original version did not survive the revision. Mostly the cuts were senseless violence that did not push the story forward. Don’t worry there’s plenty Splatterpunk left in there.

I hope you give my book a try and trip out on Blubber Island.

Best regards.

Blubber Island is available in paper and ebook through Amazon

 

 

Tagged

Leave a Reply

